PAGE LAST UPDATED: April 7, 2021
Financial Assistance & Resources for Businesses
Shuttered Venue Operators Grant Application Period Opens April 8
The Small Business Administration will begin accepting applications for the Shuttered Venue Operators Grant (SVOG) program April 8, 2021. $16 billion in economic relief was established through the federal government’s Economic Aid to Hard-Hit Small Businesses, Nonprofits and Venues Act and the American Rescue Plan Acts. Eligible applicants include:
- Live venue operators or promoters
- Theatrical producers
- Live performing arts organization operators
- Relevant museum operators, zoos and aquariums who meet specific criteria
- Motion picture theater operators
- Talent representatives
- Each business entity owned by an eligible entity that also meets eligibility requirements
More information, resources and to sign up for notifications are available at the SBA’s Application Portal. The SBA's YouTube channel features a webinar covering documentation eligible applicants need to apply and insight on the application process.
The SBA's search tool helps business owners find local SBA partners to assist with the application process.
Eligible Applicants Can Apply for a PPP Loan and a SVOG Grant
Entities that apply for a PPP loan after Dec. 27, 2020, can also apply for an SVOG, with the eligible entity’s SVOG to be reduced by the PPP loan amount. The PPP loan applications have been updated to reflect this change. However, under the law, entities will be ineligible for a PPP loan after they receive an SVOG. SBA is currently offering PPP loans until May 31, 2021. Visit the SBA's PPP Loan webpage or your lender for details.
Round 6 of CA Small Business COVID-19 Relief Grant Application Period Opens April 28
The next application period for California's Small Business COVID-19 Relief Grant Program is scheduled to open April 28 at 9:00 AM. The application period closes May 4 at 5:00 PM with notifications beginning May 7. Grant amounts range from $5,000 to $25,000. Eligible applicants include current waitlisted small businesses and/or nonprofits not selected in Rounds 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 and new applicants that meet eligibility criteria. Applicants not selected to receive a grant in Rounds 1, 2, 3 & 5 do not need to re-apply and will be automatically moved into Round 6. For more info and new applicants who wish to apply, visit CAReliefGrant.com.
Santa Clara County Moves into Orange Tier of State's Blueprint for a Safer Economy
County Aligns with State Framework Allowing Orange Tier Activities to Resume March 24
The County of Santa Clara has met the the requirements to move into the Orange Tier of the State's Blueprint for a Safer Economy. The Santa Clara County Public Health Department released a statement March 23 explaining how this change effects business operations and more. While the County's Risk Reduction Order requires everyone to follow all State orders and guidance, many of these activities remain very high risk even though they are now allowed. A summary of changes is listed below. Read the County Public Health Department’s statement here for details.
To keep everyone safe, the Public Health Department reminds us to follow these core principles:
- Go outdoors
- Stay masked
- Maintain at least 6-foot distance from others
- Avoid crowds
- Get vaccinated when it's your turn
Access guidance on business operations from the State of California's Industry Guidance webpage.
The County's Risk Reduction Order requires all businesses and other entities to maximize telework, post a Social Distancing Protocol outlining specific COVID-19 safety plans, and promptly report any cases to the County Public Health Department. Key requirements are listed below with a full list of requirements are provided by the County Public Health Department.
All businesses must continue to require workers to do their jobs from home whenever possible. Workers can go into work only to complete the job duties they can’t complete from home.
Social Distancing Protocol
Social distancing protocols submitted by businesses before October 11, 2020 are no longer valid. Businesses can submit revised social distancing protocols to the County Public Health Department at COVID19Prepared.org.
Positive Case Reporting
All businesses (and governmental entities) are legally required to report to the Public Health Department within 4 hours if they learn that any of their workers are confirmed to be positive for COVID-19. They must also ensure workers alert them if they test positive. Employers can report confirmed positive cases to the County Public Health Department.
The State’s Blueprint for a Safer Economy ("Blueprint") imposes capacity limitations on many industries, requiring them to limit the number of people inside their facilities to a percentage of their normal maximum occupancy. To provide clarity around capacity limitations and to assist with the implementation of the State’s requirements, this County's Mandatory Directive on Capacity Limitations establishes rules for applying and calculating capacity limitations and for posting capacity-related signage.
View the updated County Directive on Capacity Limitations by activity type for details. To help businesses determine their capacity limits, the County Public Health Department has provided guidance to help determine maximum capacity.
Indoor Breakroom Closure
The Health Officer strongly recommends that all indoor breakrooms in workplaces remain closed except to use appliances such as coffee makers, refrigerators, or microwaves, or for employees to use alone for other needs provided by law such as lactation. The Health Officer discourages eating, drinking, resting, or gathering in indoor breakrooms.
For any inquires related to your business or workplace operating under the current COVID-19 regulations in Santa Clara County:
- Submit inquiries via the County FAQ page
- Call the County COVID-19 Business Call Center at (408) 961-5500, Monday - Friday, 8am-5pm.
- County of Santa Clara COVID-19 Public Health Order
- County Business and Workplaces Webpage
- Social Distancing Protocol
- Calculating Maximum Capacity
- Flyers and Posters
- County Health Order Frequently Asked Questions
- State of California Industry Guidance
- Activity and Business Tiers Reference Table
- Blueprint for a Safer Economy
- State of California COVID-19 Website
California Rebuilding Fund
On November 20, Governor Newsom announced a new loan program to support California’s small businesses as they adapt to the effects of COVID-19. The California Rebuilding Fund is a partnership between public and private sector entities to provide California small businesses—particularly businesses in underbanked parts of the state—with access to responsible, affordable capital to help them survive and rebuild from this crisis.
The Fund, which includes an anchor commitment from the State of California’s Infrastructure and Economic Development Bank (“IBank”), will offer loans that are flexible, transparent and designed to help sustain small businesses through these challenging economic times. Funds are being deployed by participating community lenders, and businesses with up to 50 full-time employees and gross revenues of less than $2.5 million in 2019 may be eligible to apply. To apply for a loan and learn more, visit the California Rebuilding Fund web page.
Paycheck Protection Program Loans
The following SBA partner organizations can advise and support you with your application:
Economic Injury Disaster Loans
The Small Business Administration has increased the maximum amount small businesses and non-profit organizations can borrow through its Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) program. As of April 6, 2021, the SBA is raising the loan limit for the EIDL program from 6-months of economic injury with a maximum loan amount of $150,000 to up to 24-months of economic injury with a maximum loan amount of $500,000. More details are available in the SBA's press release.
The application deadline is December 31, 2021 pending availability of funds. Loans are offered at a 3.75% interest rate for small businesses and 2.75% for non-profit organizations, a 30-year maturity, and an automatic deferment of one year before monthly payments begin. Learn more and apply at SBA.gov.
COVID-19 Recovery Information in Other Languages
The SBA is providing materials in other languages to help business owners with recovery efforts. Visit SBA.Gov for details.
Other Small Business Relief Options Provided by the SBA
As part of our coronavirus debt relief efforts, the SBA will pay 6 months of principal, interest, and any associated fees that borrowers owe for all current 7(a), 504, and microloans in regular servicing status as well as new 7(a), 504, and microloans disbursed prior to September 27, 2020. This relief is not available for Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loans or Economic Injury Disaster loans (EIDL). Borrowers do not need to apply for this assistance. It will be automatically provided based on specific criteria. Visit SBA.Gov for more information. You can also contact your lender for details.
Express Bridge Loan
The Express Bridge Loan Pilot Program allows small businesses who currently have a business relationship with an SBA Express Lender to access up to $25,000 quickly. These loans can provide vital economic support to small businesses to help overcome the temporary loss of revenue they are experiencing and can be a term loan or used to bridge the gap while applying for a direct SBA Economic Injury Disaster loan. If a small business has an urgent need for cash while waiting for decision and disbursement on an Economic Injury Disaster Loan, they may qualify for an SBA Express Disaster Bridge Loan. More information is available from SBA.Gov. The Small Business Development Center of Silicon Valley can assist with applying for loans at no cost. You can also contact your lender for details.
For updates on SBA loan information or if you have specific questions, contact the SBA’s District Office in San Francisco:
- Phone: 415-744-6820
You can also contact the Small Business Development Center of Silicon Valley for assistance:
More information about local SBA partners is available by clicking the Local Resources tab below.
Alternatives to SBA Loans
For alternative options to SBA loans, click the "Grants" tab below to learn about small business grants and no-interest and low-interest loan opportunities.
Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security Act (CARES)
Phase III of the federal government’s financial response to COVID-19, the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security Act (CARES) provides $2 trillion allocated for businesses, individuals, federal agencies, and state and local governments. The CARES Act has been designed to distribute capital quickly and broadly. There are a number of provisions that impact small businesses. Visit the SBA’s Small Business Guidance & Loan Resources for a full list of financial assistance options. Specific assistance programs are summarized below. Access the Small Business Owner’s Guide to the CARES Act from the Small Business Development Center.
Silicon Valley Community Foundation Small Business Relief Fund
Hosted by Silicon Valley Community Foundation, the Small Business Relief Fund will provide immediate support to struggling self-employed and small business owners. SVCF will partner with Opportunity Fund, California’s largest nonprofit micro-lender, to ensure critical capital remains available to these entities throughout this crisis. More information about the Small Business Relief Fund is available from the Silicon Valley community Foundation.
Opportunity Fund offers simple and affordable loans for business owners who may not qualify for traditional financing. Provide loans to under-served small business owners, including minority and women-owned businesses in low-income communities. Applicants may qualify for between $2,600 to $250,000, depending on the type of loan. Micro loans, which are typically $50,000 or less, may also be available. Loan terms range from 12 to 60 months.
Loans can be used for working capital, equipment purchases, tenant improvements, commercial vehicle purchases (excluding ride share cars), debt refinancing (such as merchant cash advances and tax liens), opening a new location, purchasing another business, and more. Call a loan consultant at 866-299-8173 or visit Opportunityfund.org for more information.
CA Small Business Relief Grant Deadline for Non-Profit & Cultural Institutions Extended Until March 26 at 5:00 PM
- Eligible applicants: Only nonprofit cultural institutions with any revenue size that meet eligibility criteria found at CAReliefGrant.com
- Eligible grant award: $5,000 – $25,000
- Eligible nonprofit cultural institutions must complete a new application even if they already applied in Rounds 1 and 2
- Grants will only be available to nonprofits that did not receive funding in Rounds 1, 2 or 3
- Grants will be prioritized based on the documented percentage revenue declines based on a reporting period comparing Q2 and Q3 of 2020 versus Q2 and Q3 of 2019
More information on Round 4 for nonprofit Arts and Cultural Institutions can be found online at CAReliefGrant.com/arts-and-culture
New Round of California Small Business COVID-19 Relief Grant Funding Opens March 25
The California Small Business COVID-19 Relief Grant Program's new round of funding will be open between March 25 and March 31. Current waitlisted small businesses applicants and non-profits not selected in Rounds 1, 2, or 3 and new applicants that meet eligibility criteria will be considered. Waitlisted applicants do not need to re-apply, but new applicants need to apply. Visit CAReliefGrant.com for details.
Grants up to $25,000 will be administered by the California Office of the Small Business Advocate and distributed to underserved small businesses throughout the state by Community Development Financial Institutions. Governor Newsom announced creation of the $500 million COVID-19 Relief Grant program o.
Other Grant Opportunities
- $500 Matching Grants from
- No Interest Loans up to $15,000 by Kiva.org
- No Interest Loans from
- Grants and Crowd Funding Opportunities from I Fund Women.com
- Small Business Loans Between $5,000 & $500,000 from PayPal
- Small business Recovery Grants up to $10,000 from Verizon
- Competitive Small Business Grant Awards from $10,000 to $50,000 from Hello Alice and Verizon
IRS Tax Relief for Businesses Impacted by COVID-19
Employee Retention Credit
The is a refundable tax credit against certain employment taxes equal to 50% of the qualified wages an eligible employer pays to employees after March 12, 2020, and before January 1, 2021. Visit IRS.Gov for details.
Deferral of Employment Tax Deposits and Payments
CARES Act allows employers to defer the deposit and payment of the employer’s share of Social Security taxes and self-employed individuals to defer payment of certain self-employment taxes. Visit IRS.Gov for details.
Net Operating Losses
Any business that claimed a loss in tax year 2018, 2019, or 2020, may be able to carry that loss back five years. Filing an amended tax return may generate immediate refunds. More information is available at IRS.Gov. For net operating losses arising in 2018, taxpayers have until June 30, 2020, to file Form 1045 or 1139 where applicable under Section 6411 for a refund. Read IRS Notice 2020-26 for details.
Employee Retention Tax Credit
As part of the CARES Act, the U.S. Treasury Department and the Internal Revenue Service launched the Employee Retention Credit on March 31, which is designed to incentivize employers of all sizes that face closure orders or suffer economic hardship caused by COVID-19 to keep employees on their payroll. The refundable tax credit is 50% on up to $10,000 of wages paid or incurred from March 13, 2020 through December 31, 2020. More information about this tax credit including eligibility and FAQ’s is available from the IRS and Treasury Department.
Payroll Tax Deferral
To enhance cash flow so businesses can better maintain operations and payroll, employers and self-employed individuals can defer payment of the employer share of the Social Security tax they otherwise are responsible for paying to the federal government with respect to their employees. The deferred employment tax can be paid over the next two years—with half of the required amount to be paid by December 31, 2021 and the other half by December 31, 2022. The CARES Act also provides
Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) signed into Law on March 18, 2020
- Phase II of the federal government’s financial response to COVID-19
- This assistance applies to businesses with more than 50 employees and less than 500 employees
Benefits for Employees
- Normal FMLA is unpaid, but under the FFCRA, employees who are on sick leave because they are sick can receive their full pay, up to $511 per day, or $5,110 total.
- Leave taken to care for children whose schools or day care facilities have closed is paid at two-thirds the employee’s regular rate of pay, with a maximum of $200 per day or $10,000 total.
- Employers cannot force you to use up your vacation or other sick time before receiving this benefit.
- There is a 10-day waiting period before this benefit applies. Employees can use existing sick or vacation time to cover these days.
Benefits for Employers
- Employers receive tax credits for 100 percent of what they pay out to employees, with the above-noted limits.
- For employers with 50 or fewer employees, the Secretary of Labor can exempt the business from these requirements.
- Employers with fewer than 25 employees do not have to restore employees to their previous positions.
IRS Income Tax Payment & Filing Deadline for Individuals Extended to May 17, 2021
On March 17, The Treasury Department and Internal Revenue Service announced that the federal income tax filing due date for individuals for the 2020 tax year is automatically extended from April 15, 2021, to May 17, 2021. More details on this extension are available at IRS.gov. Additional resources and information are available at IRS.gov.
On March 9, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) encouraged banks and financial institutions to help meet the needs of customers and members affected by the coronavirus. That could include waiving fees on late or missed credit card or loan payments, and waiving early withdrawal penalties for out-of-work savers who need access to money locked up in CD’s for example.
Check with you bank or financial institution on assistance available to your business or visit the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation for additional information.
Governor’s Office of Business and Economic Development (Go-Biz)
The Governor’s Office of Business and Economic Development (GO-Biz) has compiled helpful information for employers, employees, and all Californians as it relates to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. Some of that information is provided below while additional resources are available at the Go-Biz website.
New Employment Assistance Platform OnwardCA.org Now Available
Launched on April 2, 2020, OwardCA.org is a one-stop resource for workers displaced by COVID-19 to help them find job opportunities in critical industries. Onward CA also connects displaced workers to resources for essential life services like food and shelter and retraining for new job opportunities. Onward CA is an initiative between Governor Newsom and a coalition of companies, foundations and people. Additional resources for employees is available by clicking the State Resources tab below.
Workplace safety and health regulations in California require employers to protect workers exposed to airborne infectious diseases such as the coronavirus. Cal/OSHA has posted guidance to help employers comply with these safety requirements and to provide workers information on how to protect themselves. Visit Cal/OSHA for details.
Labor and Workforce Development Agency
While investigations to learn more about the virus are ongoing, workers and employers should review their health and safety procedures to help prevent exposure to the virus. The Labor & Workforce Development Agency (LWDA) provides guidance and resources for workers and employers.
Small Business Resource List
The Treasurer’s Office maintains a Small Business Resource List that includes financial assistance such as loans, grants and services from federal, state and non-profit organizations with links to resources and provider contact information. View the list here. Visit the Treasurer’s Office for more assistance options and information.
Resources for Employees
Pandemic Unemployment Assistance Program
Created by the CARES Act, the Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) Program, provides federally funded benefits for certain individuals out of work or partially unemployed individuals who are not eligible for regular unemployment insurance (UI) and who are unable or unavailable to work due to COVID-19 related circumstances. Examples of such individuals include self-employed individuals, independent contractors and individuals who lack sufficient work history. California’s Employment Development Department (EDD) is scheduled to begin accepting online applications for PUA benefits beginning Tuesday, April 28. Visit the Labor and Workforce Development Agency for information on eligibility, benefits, FAQ’s and more.
Paid Sick Leave
For answers to questions regarding sick leave resulting from COVID-19, read Paid Sick Leave FAQ’s provided by the Labor Commissioner’s Office.
Workers who are sick or quarantined due to COVID-19 exposure that is certified by a medical professional can file Disability Insurance (DI) claims.
Paid Family Leave
Employees unable to work due to caring for an ill or quarantined family member with COVID-19 (certified by a medical professional) can file a Paid Family Leave (PFL) claim. PFL provides up to six weeks of benefit payments to eligible workers who have a full or partial loss of wages because they need time off work to care for a seriously ill family member or to bond with a new child. Benefit amounts are approximately 60-70 percent of wages (depending on income) and range from $50-$1,300 a week.
If your employer has reduced your hours or shut down operations due to COVID-19, file an Unemployment Insurance (UI) claim. UI provides partial wage replacement benefit payments to workers who lose their jobs or have their hours reduced, through no fault of their own. Workers who are temporarily unemployed due to COVID-19 and expected to return to work with their employer within a few weeks are not required to actively seek work each week. However, they must remain able and available and ready to work during their unemployment for each week of benefits claimed and meet all other eligibility criteria. Eligible individuals can receive benefits that range from $40-$450 per week.
Resources for Employers
Business Interruption Insurance FAQ’s
The California Department of Insurance recognizes that COVID-19 is affecting many businesses throughout the state. With many businesses experiencing severe interruption, the Department is issuing guidance for businesses regarding insurance coverage and particularly about Business Interruption Insurance coverage. Business Interruption Insurance is optional coverage that may be purchased as part of a comprehensive multi-peril commercial policy. To read the FAQ’s and access resources, visit the Insurance Commissioner’s Office at Insurance.CA.Gov
Reduced Work Hours
Employers experiencing a slowdown in their businesses or services as a result of the coronavirus impact on the economy may apply for the UI Work Sharing Program. This program allows employers to seek an alternative to layoffs — retaining their trained employees by reducing their hours and wages that can be partially offset with UI benefits. Workers of employers who are approved to participate in the Work Sharing Program receive the percentage of their weekly UI benefit amount based on the percentage of hours and wages reduced, not to exceed 60 percent.
Potential Closure & Layoffs
Employers planning a closure or major layoffs as a result of the coronavirus can get help through the Rapid Response program. Rapid Response teams will meet with you to discuss your needs, help avert potential layoffs, and provide immediate on-site services to assist workers facing job losses. Refer to the Rapid Response Services for Businesses Face Sheet for details or contact the nearest American Job Center of California at the Work2Future office in San Jose.
Employers experiencing a hardship as a result of COVID-19 may request up to a 60-day extension of time from the Employment Development Department (EDD) to file their state payroll reports and/or deposit state payroll taxes without penalty or interest. A written request for extension must be received within 60 days from the original delinquent date of the payment or return.
For questions, employers may call the EDD Taxpayer Assistance Center:
Toll-free from the U.S. or Canada: 1-888-745-3886
Hearing impaired (TTY): 1-800-547-9565
Outside the U.S. or Canada: 1-916-464-3502
Franchise Tax Board
As of March 18, 2020, the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) is postponing until July 15 the filing and payment deadlines for all individuals and business entities for:
- 2019 tax returns
- 2019 tax return payments
- 2020 1st and 2nd quarter estimate payments
- 2020 LLC taxes and fees
- 2020 Non-wage withholding payments
California Department of Tax and Fee Administration
Pursuant to Governor Newsom’s Executive Order N-40-20 issued March 30, all taxpayers who file a return less than $1 Million dollars will have an additional 3 months to file their return between now and July 31, 2020.If you qualify for this extension it is automatic and you do not need to apply for the extension.
If your tax liability is $1 million or more, you may still request an extension if you are unable to file and pay timely. These requests will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis and taxpayers will be notified if their extension has been approved or denied.
Effective April 2, 2020, small business taxpayers, those with less than $5 million in taxable annual sales, can take advantage of a 12-month, interest-free, payment plan for up to $50,000 of sales and use tax liability. Payment plan requests can be made through CDTFA’s Online Services Portal in the coming months.
To view new tax filing due dates or request extensions to file tax payments, claims for refunds and tax appeals, visit CDTFA’s website for details.
Office of the Small Business Advocate
The Office of the Small Business Advocate (OSBA) specialists help small business owners navigate California rules and regulations and educate about state programs and incentives. OSBA has a network of small business centers throughout the state to offer consulting and training and access to capital. Contact a specialist directly from here.
The following agencies and organizations can assist your business:
- A New America Women’s Business Center
- Minority Business Development Agency
- Small Business Development Center of Silicon Valley
- Small Business Development Center Hispanic Satellite
California Infrastructure and Economic Development Bank (I-BANK)
I-Bank offers loan programs for businesses affected by disasters in California. I-Bank, a unit within the Governor’s Office of Business and Economic Development (GO-Biz), offers the following loan programs for businesses from one to 750 employees:
Disaster Relief Loan Guarantee Program
I-Bank issues loan guarantees up to 95 percent of the loan through its partner Financial Development Corporations to help small business borrowers who were impacted by disasters or public safety power shutoffs, and who need term loans or lines of credit for working capital. Small businesses, including small farms, nurseries, agriculture-related enterprises and nonprofits that have suffered an economic loss and/or physical damage may apply. This disaster program will help lenders and small businesses by providing loan guarantees of up to $1 million for small business borrowers in declared disaster areas.
Jump Start Loan Program
I-Bank offers loans from $500 to $10,000 to low-wealth entrepreneurs in the declared disaster and emergency areas through its Jump Start Loan Program. This small loan and financial literacy/technical assistance program designed for low-income small businesses in low-wealth communities, including businesses owned by women, minorities, veterans, people with disabilities and those previously incarcerated. Access to I-Bank’s Disaster Relief Loan Guarantee Program and Jump Start Loan Program can be made through its partner Financial Development Corporations (FDC’s)
For more information on how to apply, visit the I-Bank’s Small Business Finance Center.
California Capital Access Program
The California Capital Access Program (CalCAP) for Small Business encourages banks and other financial institutions to make loans to small businesses that have difficulty obtaining financing. If you own a small business and need a loan for start-up, expansion or working capital, you may receive more favorable loan terms from a lender if your loan is enrolled in the CalCAP Loan Loss Reserve Program. Loans are available up to $5 million.
CalCAP is a loan loss reserve program which may provide up to 100% coverage on losses as a result of certain loan defaults. With CalCAP portfolio support, a lender may be more comfortable underwriting small business loans.
If your financial institution does not currently participate, it is easy for lenders to sign up. Your institution must complete the Financial Institution Application and send to CalCAP to get started.
To find a participating lender, visit the California State Treasurer’s Office website.
Financial Institution Application available at the California State Treasurer’s Office website. Email completed applications to email@example.com.
Business Owners May Be Eligible for Potential Business Equipment and Machinery Tax Savings from County Assessor's Office
The County Assessor’s Office is encouraging business owners to provide business equipment and machinery valuation information when filing their Form 571-L Business Personal Property Statement. While the 571-L filing deadline is April 1, business owners can file until May 7 without penalty.
Property Tax Payment Relief
On May 6, 2020, Governor Newsom signed an executive order waiving penalties for property taxes paid after April 10 for taxpayers who demonstrate they have experienced financial hardship due to the COVID-19 pandemic through May 6, 2021. This relief applies to residential properties and small businesses. For more details, visit the County Department of Tax and Collections.
See the Eviction Moratorium and Rent payment Assistance webpage for details.
A New America Women’s Business Center
ANew America Women’s Business Center provides training, counseling and other support services to help women entrepreneurs start and successfully grow their businesses. Consulting appointments will be handled via web meeting or phone. To schedule an appointment, visit the New America Women’s Business Center’s website. Information about the business center’s services and response to COVID-19 is available here.
Google for Small Business
Google provides tips and recommendations including modifying your business’ Google advertising campaign to help your business through this crisis. Visit Google for Small Business for information.
The ICA Fund of Oakland is a certified Community Development Financial Institutions Fund by U.S. Treasury Department. ICA educates, advises and provides access to capital for businesses. ICA is in the process of raising funds to support its Rapid Response Liquidity Fund with a goal of $5 million. Learn about eligibility, how to apply and more at ICAFundGoodJobs.org.
SCORE is a national non-profit organization operating under the auspices of the SBA and provides mentoring and education to small business owners at no cost and workshops and seminars at a modest cost. SCORE’s volunteer mentors are experienced successful business owners, and former corporate and non-profit executives Visit SCORE”s Silicon Valley office website to get started.
Small Business Development Center of Silicon Valley
In addition to helping small business owners prepare and apply for SBA assistance loans, the Silicon Valley Small Business Development Center (SBDC) provides the following online resources to help small business owners get started:
Online Webinars led by financial and business experts and advisers regrading:
- Managing tight cash flow
- Preparing and applying for Economic Disaster Injury Loans
- Restaurants, bars and hospitality business management and assistance
View pre-recorded webinars now via the Silicon Valley Small Business Development Center
Visit the SBDC for additional resources including:
- Overview to the Paycheck Protection Program
- Small Business Owners Guide to the CARES Act
- Online webinars for Coping with COVID-19
- Guide to COVID-19 loans and forms
- Small Business Survival Guide
- Federal and state resources and FAQ’s
Small business owners who have questions and need assistance with loan applications, please contact the Small Business Administration’s San Francisco District Office, which serves the Bay Area or the Small Business Development Center of Silicon Valley.
Small Business Administration, San Francisco Office
Small Business Development Center of Silicon Valley
Small Business Majority
Small Business Majority is a national small business advocacy organization, founded and run by small business owners to ensure America’s entrepreneurs are a key part of a thriving and inclusive economy. SBM actively engages small business owners and policymakers in support of public policy solutions, and deliver information and resources to entrepreneurs that promote small business growth and drive a strong, sustainable job-creating economy. Visit SmallBusinessmajority.org to learn more.
View the Small Business Majority’s archived webinar from March 30, 2020 that covers federal and state assistance for small businesses from the Governor’s Office of Business and Economic Development, the Small Business Development Center, Opportunity Fund and the Small Business Majority. View previous webinars on-demand from the Small Business Majority.
Utility Companies Suspending Disconnection of Service
Pacific Gas and Electric and The San Jose Water Company have suspended service disconnections for non-payment of gas, electric and water service until further notice. More information on how each agency can assist customers and their responses to COVID-19 are available at PGE.com and SJWater.com. Per Governor Newsom’s Executive Order N-28-20, the Public Utilities Commission monitors public and private utility providers’ customer service protections for critical utilities like electricity, gas, water, internet, and landline and cell phone service. Executive Order N-42-20 restricts water service shutoff to homes and small businesses while the state responds to the COVID-19 pandemic.
The following online events are to inform and educate small businesses. Most online events are free, but some may charge a nominal registration fee. If you cannot attend an event you have registered for, please cancel your reservation so that someone else can attend.
April 14 & 28
SBA Disaster Relief Loan Updates
The Northern California Small Business Development Center (SBDC) hosts a panel of expert financial advisors to answer questions about how small businesses can apply for an Economic Injury Disaster Loan and Paycheck Protection Loan and information on new loan options. The Attorney Coalition from CASEFORCE is scheduled will provide answers to COVID-relations business questions.
Host: Northern California Small Business Development Center
Time: 10:30 AM to 12:00 PM
Virtual Job Fair
April 28 will feature Business, Financial, and Technology Companies
April 29 will feature Healthcare, Government and Public Service companies
April 30 will feature Advanced Manufacturing, Construction and Trades companies
May 8 & June 11
Laid Off Employee Webinars
A panel of experts will cover filing and re-opening un-employment claims, securing healthcare coverage, no-cost career assistance services.
Time: 11:00 AM
Upcoming Online Events
Work2Future, the job development service provider to Campbell, serves both workers and employers with job training
The Silicon Valley Small Business Development Center has upcoming webinars covering topics including launching an e-commerce website, managing cash flow during COVID-19 and more. Visit SBDC's event calendar for details and to register.
All individuals, businesses, and other entities in the County are ordered to comply with the applicable provisions of this Order. For clarity, individuals who do not currently reside in the County must comply with all applicable requirements of the Order when they are in the County. Governmental entities must follow the requirements of this Order applicable to businesses, but governmental entities and their contractors are not required to follow these requirements to the extent that such requirements would impede or interfere with an essential governmental function, as determined by the governmental entity, unless otherwise specifically directed in this Order or by the Health Officer.
Obligation to Follow Stricter Order
Where a conflict exists between this Order and any order issued by the State Public Health Officer or the Governor related to the COVID-19 pandemic, the most restrictive provision controls. For clarity, all individuals and entities must comply with the State Order, any mandatory guidance issued by the California Department of Public Health, any mandatory orders of the Governor, or any other mandatory provision of State law to the extent it is stricter than any provision of this Order.
Obligation to Follow Health Officer Directives and Mandatory State Guidance
All individuals and entities, including all businesses and governmental entities, must also follow any applicable directives issued by the County Health Officer and any applicable “COVID-19 Industry Guidance” issued by the California Department of Public Health, available at covid19.ca.gov/industry-guidance/. To the extent that provisions in the directives of the County Health Officer and the guidance of the State Health Officer conflict, the more restrictive provisions apply.
Staying Home is the Best Way to Reduce Risk
All people are strongly reminded that continuing to stay home as much as possible is the best way to prevent the risk of COVID-19, and therefore trips and activities outside the home should be minimized. All activities that involve contact with people outside of one’s household increase the risk of getting COVID-19.
Older Adults and Individuals with Serious Underlying Medical Conditions
Older adults (those age 70 or older) and individuals with serious underlying medical conditions (including immunocompromised state, chronic kidney disease, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, obesity, serious heart conditions, sickle cell disease, and diabetes) are strongly urged to stay in their places of residence except to access critical necessities such as food and medicine. Adults aged 50 to 69 are encouraged to minimize activities and interactions with people outside their household to the extent practicable.
All businesses must continue to require workers to do their jobs from home whenever possible. Workers can go into work only to complete the job duties they can’t complete from home.
Positive Case Reporting
All businesses (and governmental entities) are legally required to report to the Public Health Department within 4 hours if they learn that any of their workers are confirmed to be positive for COVID-19. They must also ensure workers alert them if they test positive. More information is available from County Public Health Department.
Under the Revised Risk Reduction Order issued October 5, all businesses must complete a new Social Distancing Protocol by October 28 in order to operate Businesses can submit their new protocols here.
Employers are now required to instruct employees who test positive for COVID-19 to stay home and isolate for at least 10 days from the date their symptoms began, AND for at least 24 hours after resolution of fever without the use of fever-reducing medications; AND improvement of any other symptoms. If they never had any COVID-19 symptoms, they should isolate for 10 days from the date their positive test was done. This is known as the “10/1 rule” and is a change from the earlier “10/3 rule,” which was referenced on page 6 of the original version of the Social Distancing Protocol. Employers are required to follow the 10/1 rule starting on September 22, 2020.
All businesses must print (1) an updated COVID-19 PREPARED Sign and (2) a Social Distancing Protocol Visitor Information Sheet, and both must be posted prominently at all facility entrances. These are available for printing after submission of the Social Distancing Protocol online.
Capacity limitations are based on a facility's maximum occupancy unless otherwise stated. For example, indoor dining and indoor gatherings are limited to 25% capacity or 100 people, whichever is fewer. To help businesses determine their capacity limits when operating in the Orange Tier, the County Public Health Department has provided a tool to help calculate maximum capacity
The Health Officer will issue a set of mandatory directives with rules to reduce risk in the for specific industries and activities listed below. All businesses and people in the County must follow these directives, as well as the industry-specific guidance issued by the State. County mandatory directives by industry are available from the Public Health Department.
- Personal Services, including hair and nail salons, massage therapy, and other body care services
- Gyms and fitness centers
- Recreational and athletic activities
- Gatherings, including for social, economic, religious, cultural, and other purposes
- Hotels and motels
- Public transit
- Childcare, summer camps, and children’s activities
- Outdoor dining
- Food facilities
Face coverings must be worn at all times and by all individuals as specified in the California Department of Public Health’s mandatory Guidance for the Use of Face Coverings (“Face Covering Guidance”) and in accordance with any specific directives issued by the County Health Officer. Further, even where not required under State or local guidance and orders, face coverings should be worn to the maximum extent possible (1) when indoors and not in one’s own residence and (2) whenever outdoors and within six feet of anyone outside one’s own household.
Flexible Business Operation Guidelines for All Permitted Businesses
When outdoor business operations are allowed by State and County Health Orders retail, restaurants and general business operations may operate and to encourage economic recovery during the COVID-19 pandemic, the City Council has authorized relaxation of the City’s development standards and permit processes to temporarily allow greater allowances for business operations. These Guidelines will serve as land use allowances until such time as the County Public Health Officer Order is discontinued or the City determines that such operational expansions are no longer warranted.
Operations on Public Sidewalks - Downtown Campbell
How to Apply
Contact the Planning Division to get started.
Operations on Private Property - Downtown Campbell
When outdoor business operations are allowed by State and County Health Orders, all permitted businesses may expand their operations within private parking lots and private common areas adjacent to their business locations. While no permits are required for outdoor business operations within private parking lots and private common areas, written approval from property owners is required for use of private property. See the Flexible Business Operation Guidelines for more details.
Flexible Business Operation Guidelines - Private Property Beyond Downtown Campbell
When outdoor business operations are allowed by State and County Health Orders, these guidelines apply to commercial retail and restaurant businesses located and operated entirely on private property. Both retail and restaurant businesses are eligible to take advantage of these allowances thereby creating improved flexibility from any previously established land use entitlements received for the particular business. Although these are City-established guidelines, tenants will need property owner permission to implement such allowances. No city permits are required for expansion within private property. More information is available in the Flexible Business Operation Guidelines for Private Property.
Michael Thomas, Economic Development Specialist
Phone: 408-866-2192 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org